The 2017 Chanticleer Awards

12:00 AM
11:59 PM
Special Event


  • Saturday, Aug. 19, 2017

The 66th Annual Chanticleer Awards

Weathervane's Annual Volunteer-Recognition Event!
The Chanticleer Awards are Weathervane's version of the Tony Awards — but combined with the populist spirit of the People's Choice Awards!

Weathervane's friends and supporters gathered at the Playhouse on Saturday, Aug. 19, 2017, for a very special night to honor the Playhouse's volunteers — both on stage and behind the scenes — for their commitment, time and talents given during the 2016-2017 season.


The Erin Dillon Youth Recognition Awards
Logan Chapman and Bryson Lambes

Best Supporting Actress in a Musical
Peggy Coyle as Velma Von Tussle in Hairspray

The Board of Trustees Award
April and David Deming

Best Supporting Actor in a Play
Joshua Larkin as Ed Carmichael in You Can't Take it With You

Best Technical Element in an Emerging Artist Series Production
Chris Simmons, properties designer for Roald Dahl's Willy Wonka

Best Actor in a Dietz Theater Production
TIE: Russell B. Kunz as Mark Rothko in Red and Joshua Larkin as Ken in Red

Best Technical Element in a Dietz Theater production
Chelby Benson and Pamela Parks Costa, co-designers of properties for Red

Best Actress in a Dietz Theater Production
Kyla Williger as Diana in I Love You Because

Best Supporting Actress in a Play
Dede Klein as Judy in A Kid Like Jake

Best Lighting Design
Kevin Rutan for Hairspray

Best Supporting Actor in a Musical
Tom Stephan as Wilbur Turnblad in Hairspray

Best Scenic Design
Richard Morris, Jr., for Little Shop of Horrors

The Producer's Award
Kathy Kohl

Best Lead Actor in a Musical
Patrick Michael Dukeman as Edna Turnblad in Hairspray

Best Sound Design
Christopher Pepe for Jesus Christ Superstar

Best Lead Actress in a Play
Cari Meixner as Rose in The Flick

Best Costume Design
Loren "Coco" Mayer for Hairspray

Best Properties Design
April Helms for Little Shop of Horrors

Best Actor in a Play
Patrick Michael Dukeman as Crumpet the Elf in The Santaland Diaries

Best Actress in a Musical
Sarah Jane Toy as Tracy Turnblad in Hairspray

Best Play
You Can't Take it With You
Will C. Crosby, Stage Manager
Fred Gloor, Director

Best Musical
Jeff Bixby and Jerry Dorton, Stage Managers
Marissa Leenaarts, Director and Choreographer
John Ebner


The 2017 Chanticleer Awards also celebrated those individuals who volunteered their invaluable time and talents to the 2016-2017 season, which ran from Aug. 1, 2016 to July 31, 2017.

Weathervane Playhouse's No. 1 Volunteer of the Year
Jared Sparks with 889 volunteer hours logged during the 2016-2017 season 

No. 2 – Patrick Michael Dukeman (842 hours)
No. 3 – Ralph Cooley (772.25 hours)
No. 4 – Laura Niehaus (733 hours)
No. 5 – Casey Ha (627 hours)
No. 6 – Jeff Bixby (585 hours)
No. 7 – Logan Chapman (553 hours)
No. 8 – Jada-Lynn Pledger (538.5 hours)
No. 9 – Jerry Dorton (532 hours)
No. 10 – Aliyah Evans (519 hours)
No. 11 – Zachary Charlick (500 hours)
No. 12 – Jeannie Clarkson (490.5 hours)
No. 13 – Sarah Craven (477 hours)
No. 14 – Alden Munnerlyn (474.5 hours)
No. 15 – John O'Neill (462 hours)
No. 16 – Mary Rohrer (442.5 hours)
No. 17 – Kaitlyn Harris (441.5 hours)
No. 18 – April Deming (415 hours)
No. 19 – Harriet DeVeto (414.5 hours)
No. 20 – Will C. Crosby (408.75 hours)
No. 21 – Bryson Lambes (407.25 hours)
No. 22 – Ella Stec (392.25 hours)
No. 23 – Frank Lucas (372 hours)
No. 24 – Eleasha Garrett (362 hours)
No. 25 – Dale Gilbert (353.5 hours)


Box Office Info

Mondays: CLOSED
Tuesdays—Fridays: 11 am to 5 pm
Performance Saturdays: Noon to 5 pm

The Box Office is also open beginning one hour before each performance and remains open until the end of each performance.

Get tickets by phone at 330-836-2626
or purchase online below.*

*A $4.00 per-ticket surcharge will be added to each Internet sale.
*A $2.00 per-ticket facility-and-handling fee will be added to each telephone or window sale.
*Group orders are not available online.

Back to Top